Congratulations to West Campus Tenure Class of 2014

wc-tenure-class14-groveA message from Falecia Williams, President, West Campus

Tenure is a celebration of professors’ earned freedom to teach and discuss pertinent topics related to their academic discipline for the purpose of achieving the learning outcomes of the course. The awarding of tenure marks substantive achievement by a faculty member in the scholarship of teaching and learning as demonstrated through his or her teaching and learning portfolio, performance evaluations, student engagement efforts and service contributions.

As citizens and officers of Valencia’s learning community, we embrace and respect both the freedoms and responsibilities imbued in the rank of tenure. It is, therefore, my great honor and privilege to present the West Campus Tenure Class of 2014:

  • Cynthia Bell, professor of emergency medical services
  • Masood Ejaz, professor of electrical and computer engineering technology
  • Betsy Brantley, professor of biology
  • Claudine Bentham, professor of reading, college reading preparation
  • Susan Gosnell, professor of radiologic and imaging sciences
  • Kimberlee Harvey, professor of respiratory therapy
  • Diego Diaz Lopez, professor of chemistry
  • Marie Howard, professor of office systems technology
  • Laura Sessions, professor of chemistry
  • Daniela Johnson, professor of mathematics
  • David Curtis, professor of biology
  • Adrienne Mathews, professor of political science
  • Armira Shkembi, professor of mathematics
  • Ralf Jenne, professor of humanities
  • Veermuthu “Ravi Varma” Rajaravivarma, professor of electrical engineering technology
  • Eric Model, professor of psychology
  • Shari Wight, professor of nursing
  • Tina Tan, professor of speech
  • Neal Phillips, professor of English
  • Shahnaz Kanani, professor of biology
  • John Creighton, professor of speech

Two of the faculty members were also recognized for their stellar teaching and learning portfolios:

•            Diego Diaz Lopez, Exemplary Action Research Award
•            Eric Model, West Campus Innovation Award

Please join me in celebrating the achievement of tenure for this outstanding group of faculty.


  • Donna Deitrick said:

    Way to go West Campus 2014 Tenure Faulty! Congratulations. Tina Tan you did it, so proud of you!!!

    AMTue, 06 May 2014 07:51:44 +0000Tue, 06 May 2014 07:51:44 +0000am14,7:51 am

  • Ellen Phillips said:

    Congratulations to everyone! So proud of you, Neal Phillips!!

    AMTue, 06 May 2014 08:27:07 +0000Tue, 06 May 2014 08:27:07 +0000am14,8:27 am

  • C Penfold Navarro said:

    Congratulations to this wonderful group of faculty! I am so honoured to have worked with many of you through the LifeMap Certificate, Destination, and PATHWAYS projects. Thanks for every action you take every day to promote student learning and a collegial, inspiring, intellectually stretching environment for your colleagues and students.

    AMTue, 06 May 2014 09:03:02 +0000Tue, 06 May 2014 09:03:02 +0000am14,9:03 am

  • Liz said:

    Way to go Betsy Brantley and staff.

    PMTue, 06 May 2014 17:41:25 +0000Tue, 06 May 2014 17:41:25 +0000pm14,5:41 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Posts

    Congratulations to the Tenure Class of 2021

    Thursday, June 24, 2021 A Message from Claudine Bentham, Faculty Director, Teaching and Learning Academy  The Teaching and Learning Academy (TLA) is proud to present our newly tenured faculty members. On Thursday April 22, 2021, we celebrated the Class of 2021’s earning of tenure and what they have accomplished over the five-year process. Despite the […]

    Congratulations to the Tenure Class of 2020

    Thursday, June 25, 2020 Despite COVID-19 and social distancing, Valencia College celebrated our newly tenured faculty via Zoom on Thursday, April 16, 2020. It was a well-attended virtual celebration, featuring our campus presidents and deans speaking on behalf of each candidate and his or her contributions to the College. “When we return to normalcy, it is our hope […]