Valencia Partners with UCF for Downtown Campus Orientations

A Message from Falecia Williams, President, West and Downtown Campuses

The partnership between Valencia College and the University of Central Florida (UCF) continues with a new joint orientation program.

The goal of conducting joint orientations is to design a seamless student experience for all Downtown students, according to Edna Jones Miller, dean of students at the Downtown Campus. However, students may attend Valencia-only orientations if they choose. Valencia information shared is the same in both session types.

Edna said the joint orientation sessions help set the tone for the overall culture of collaboration and innovation at the campus. The first joint orientation session with UCF was held on Friday, November 22, 2019.

“UCF and Valencia College have a strong partnership in which we are working together to strengthen student support through combined efforts at orientation,” Edna said. “And the Downtown Campus is a breeding ground for innovation. With a passionate and strategic focus, we will continue to develop and implement a positive and innovative student experience for years to come. Joint orientations are just the beginning.”

Dates for the upcoming summer orientation sessions with UCF are below:

Valenica/UCF Joint Orientation Dates

  • Wednesday, June 10, 2020
  • Friday, June 12, 2020
  • Wednesday, June 17, 2020
  • Friday, June 19, 2020
  • Friday, July 10, 2020
  • Friday, July 17, 2020
  • Tuesday, August 18, 2020
  • Wednesday, August 19, 2020
  • Friday, August 21, 2020

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Posts

    UCF Offers a Mighty Knights Self-defense Course at the...

    Thursday, October 14, 2021 A Message from Terri Graham, Interim President, West and Downtown Campuses Date: Monday, October 25, 2021 Time: 3  – 5 p.m.  Location: Downtown Campus. The exact location will be sent after you register. Click here to register.   Date: Thursday, November 18, 2021 Time: 4 – 6 p.m. Location: Downtown Campus. The exact location will be […]

    UCF Connect Centers Are Open

    Tuesday, October 12, 2021 The UCF Connect Centers have reopened at Valencia College’s East, Osceola and West Campuses. Valencia students who plan to attend the University of Central Florida (UCF) after graduation should connect with a UCF success coach as early as possible. While students are still attending Valencia, the success coaches will provide assistance with […]